Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 22nd, 2008

Gooooood afternooon,

Not much going on over in The Nest, just wanted a quick post before headin on the bus. Fingers crossed for the gamefly games when I get there. Wanted to throw this out there: Dark Knight: Deal Breaker Basically an interesting article from a business mag mostly about Bruce Wayne, not Batman. An interesting premise and a definate different look at pretty familar characters, I don’t know how much real relevance this has to the film. Minor spoilers, but if you haven’t seen the flick I wouldn’t bother, yet. Did I mention DK was AWESOME? Can we call it DK? I’m going to, try to stop me.

In Gaming related news (whoa, this blog is about gaming?) we have some games coming out this week, but the pickings are slim at best. Looks like the only one worth playing this week is Final Fantasy IV on Nintendo DS, so needless to say, I will probably miss it. Check out Gamespots weekly releases here

Also released on Tuesday are DVDs, and a quick look at JoBlo’s release calendar there really isn’t much to get excited about there either. Oh well. We all know July is slow. I guess I should spend more time at the beach or outdoors…nah. See you all in the A.M.

Read Full Post »

Lunch and Flies…GameFlys

Hope your morning was as fantastical as mine was. The piles are a little smaller, but still endless.

So I signed up for GameFly this past weekend to give myself a chance to play some more games and write about them. I signed up for it on Sat. and am still waiting for my first games, which happen to be Ninja Gaiden II and BioShock. I played the demos of both of these games and had a lot of fun, but did not want to spend the $60 on either. Enter gamefly. But the real question is, what sort of effect is this rental service (unlimited timeframe, two at time; think Netflix but for games) going to have on the market and business of games? At a time when small developers are struggling and massive studios are merging, with marketing pressure to produce flashy, low-content high glitzy appeal (see any movie based video game in the last 4-5 years,) and a general lack of creativity from a lot of the big players (Diablo III? looks like Diablo II, just sayin…) I have a general fear for the state of the gaming industry. Now, does a service like GameFly help or hurt the current marketplace for games? I’m split. On one hand, I love the consumer ability to rent a game, play it as long as they like, and then return it. It allows gamers to experience something they would have normally passed on to give it a whirl, and if the replayability aspect is there, they may even purchase it after a while. But in thinking about it, would I have caved and eventually bought BioShock (when it was an Xbox classic and $30 cheaper?) I’ll never know, because now I get to have my taste and then exchange it for something better that I wouldn’t have bought, say…Soul Caliber IV? Is the industry losing out on the Well, this game has been out for 9 months, but I really wanted to play it…oh look, its only 20 bucks, why the fuck not? Instead, I play it for three weeks, send it back, and Gamefly gets all my hard earned dollars- a pretty reasonable 22 bucks a month, which means if I only get two games for 6 months, I still save money. It’s good for the gamer sure, if they play enough. It’s good for the industry maybe, because it gets more people playing. I suppose only time will tell.

That mini-rant was brought to you by XXX Vitaman water (yes, im trying to drum up google searches by throwing a XXX in there. You just wait, I bet it works…)

Have a good rest of your dayz out there you merry working men and women of the intrawebs. I’ll hit you up again soon.

Read Full Post »

Hi buddies and pals and readers and breeders

Hope everyone had a productive and fun monday and is gearing up for another spectaculer Tuesday. Ah who am I kidding its rainy and grey and I have a boat load of work to do so a quick little update to get us all started here this morning. Office Fans will be happy to see this coming through the pipeline. I’m skeptical but nevertheless will add that to the DVR queue, because, well, Hall High Graduate Michael Shur and the rest of the Office team are probably the funniest writing group on television (not including the Black/Showalter combo of the defunct MTV’s the State.)

As you all know, I am huge Fallout fan (preview still pending, trust) and here’s a nice little interview with the creaters of Oblivion.

Thats all for the morning, I have a lot to do today so I’ll try to get you something about lunchtime. Until then…

Read Full Post »